2004 Award Winners

Congratulations to APCC 2004 Award Winners

Consulting Success has the pleasure of announcing the 2004 APCC Awards recipients. The four categories of awards include: Honor Roll of Excellence in Communication for a client, Excellence in Writing, Excellence in Training, and Excellence in Service.

  1. Honor Roll of Excellence in Communication (client award)
    The recipient of the 2004 Honor Roll of Excellence in Communication award is ZS Associates (www.zsassociates.com), a global management consulting firm specializing in sales and marketing strategy, operations, and execution. Headquartered in Evanston, IL, ZS Associates has nearly 600 employees in 11 offices around the world. As a consulting firm committed to making a positive impact on their clients’ business, ZS has identified a list of core competencies necessary to be competitive and to serve its clients with excellence. Communication is a key competency on that list.

    Nominators Penny Hirsch and Barbara Shwom, of Evanston, IL, write, “We have found ZS Associates to be remarkable in its commitment to communication and training. The company makes excellent use not only of outside communication consultants but also its own internal communication resources. Through its commitment, the company has successfully inculcated all employees its belief that communication excellence is necessary for the organization’s success. When people attend training, they are excited, interested, ready to learn, and—most importantly—eager to implement what they learn in their day to day client work. In the six years we have consulted with ZS Associates, we have seen the quality of their client communication improve exponentially. They are raising the bar for competitors in their industry.”

    Matt Woolsey, of ZS Associates, accepted the award at the APCC awards luncheon in Cambridge, MA.

  2. Excellence in Writing (member award)
    The 2004 Excellence in Writing award went to Lee Clark Johns, of Tulsa, OK, for her book, The Writing Coach, published by Thomson’s Delmar Learning division.The Writing Coach walks workplace writers through the writing process—from planning, organizing, and writing strategies applied to both long and short documents, through editing and revising the final drafts. It replaces the traditional “how to” texts for different business writing genres (reports, memos, letters) with a decision-making process that taps the critical thinking skills and experience of adult learners.

    A reviewer on Amazon.com wrote, “The introduction to The Writing Coach is inspiring. Lee Clark Johns is enthusiastic about her subject. She treats her subject with the care and skill of a fine novelist. She involves the reader in the subject matter from the very beginning and then leads the way to a great adventure for the business writing community. She adds just enough humor in sample writings to keep smiles on student faces. For those of us who are involved in the honorable profession of teaching English, an enthusiastic and inspired author becomes a silent team teaching member. Lee Clark Johns is just such an author in The Writing Coach.

  3. Excellence in Training (member award)
    In 2004, the APCC Board of Directors voted to rename two of the association’s awards, in recognition of the extraordinary accomplishments of two APCC members. The Excellence in Training Award was renamed the Dan Dieterich Award for Excellence in Training and was presented to Dan Dieterich, of Stevens Point, WI, one of the “founding fathers and mothers” of the association.In presenting the award to Dan, the Awards Committee noted that Dan’s workshops on consulting at meetings of the Conference on College Composition and Communication formed the community that led directly to the founding of APCC, then the Association of Professional Writing Consultants. Throughout the association’s history, Dan has served in almost every capacity and has continued his role as the “trainer’s trainer,” par excellence.
  4. Excellence in Service (member award)
    The Excellence in Service award was also renamed, as the Hank Sparapani Award for Excellence in Service, and presented posthumously to Hank Sparapani, also of Stevens Point, WI. Hank, another founder of APCC, passed away suddenly in 2004.In the words of the Awards Committee, “no member of APCC has given more distinguished service to the association and to the consulting profession.”

    Hank’s award was accepted by his academic colleague, consulting partner, and friend, Dan Dieterich, who later privately presented it to Hank’s widow, Susan Sparapani.

  5. In recognition of their dedication to clear communication,
    APCC sends kudos to all of its winners for 2004.

Comments are closed.